Advertisement feature — this page is published by Scentech.
Best electric diffuser 2026: the five types, and which one suits your home
Type electric diffuser into a UK shop search and the results are not one product. A £39.99 table lamp with a water tank, a £65 machine fed from a 15 ml bottle of perfume oil, a plug-in that warms a capsule above the skirting board and a £193 aluminium cylinder that takes a sealed pod all come back under the same two words. Their oil bills differ by more than the price tags do.
This page sorts that shelf into five types, sets out the decisions that pick between them, and says which of the seven machines in our ranking fits which house. Every figure is a maker's or retailer's published number, read in September 2026; we measured nothing ourselves.
What an electric diffuser is in a UK shop
Ultrasonic water-tank diffusers. A disc under the water vibrates, a cool fog rises and a few drops of oil ride out with it. Four of the seven we compared work this way, with tanks of 100 to 180 ml and stated run times from 45 minutes to seven hours per fill, at £39.99 to £55.00 in September 2026.
Nebulisers, or cold-air diffusers. Neat oil, no water, no heat; air pressure shears the oil into a dry mist. Scentech's three machines are this type, each on a sealed 65 ml pod, with a stated reach of 40, 65 or 100 m².
Perfume-mist machines with a small bottle. The Stoneglow Modern Classics takes a 15 ml bottle that John Lewis states lasts up to ten weeks. The retailer does not say if water is involved, so neither do we. £65.00.
Plug-in warmers and fan diffusers. A capsule over a heating element in a wall socket, or a fan blowing air across an oil-soaked pad. None of the seven is either, so we have no published reach, run time or refill price to set beside the others.
The five types at a glance
| Type | What goes in | Water | Stated room size | Noise figure | In our comparison |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ultrasonic water tank | 100–180 ml of water, two or three drops of oil | yes | 20 m² (Beurer LA 40); the other three not stated | none published | John Lewis Electric, John Lewis Speckled Ceramic, Beurer LA 40, Tisserand Aroma Spa |
| Nebuliser / cold-air pod | sealed 65 ml pod of blended fragrance oil | no | 40, 65 and 100 m² (Scentech) | 59.5 dB and 39.5 dB | Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser, Diffuser 2, Pro |
| Perfume mist, small bottle | 15 ml bottle of diffuser oil | not stated | not stated | not stated | Stoneglow Modern Classics |
| Plug-in warmer | a capsule over a heating element | no | not stated | not stated | none of the seven |
| Fan / evaporative | oil on a pad or wick | no | not stated | not stated | none of the seven |
Five decisions that pick the type
1. The room, against the stated square metres
Pace the room out, then look for the figure most product pages leave off. Of the five high-street models only the Beurer LA 40 states a room size: up to 20 m², in John Lewis's words. Scentech states 40, 65 and 100 m² for its three. Different companies, no shared method, so read them as claims. But a missing figure is itself an answer: a page that will not say how big a room it covers is describing a small one.
2. Water, or not
A tank is a daily chore. The US Environmental Protection Agency advises emptying and drying a humidifier tank every day, because ultrasonic devices can throw micro-organisms and minerals from the water into the air; an ultrasonic diffuser works on the same principle. In a hard-water county you descale it too. A pod machine has no tank and no limescale, at the price of a closed system: other oils fall outside Scentech's one-year guarantee. The long version is our essential oil diffuser vs pod diffuser page.
3. Noise
Scentech publishes 59.5 dB for the Smart Aroma Diffuser and 39.5 dB for the Diffuser 2 and the Pro. None of the other five publishes a decibel figure. That does not make them loud. It means you find out beside the bed.
4. What the oil costs a month
A Scentech ScentPod 2.0 is 65 ml for £27.00, or £0.42 a millilitre, and lasts one to three months, says the maker. On its own example of twelve hours a day on a medium setting that is about £13.50 a month, between £9 and £27. For the water-tank machines no monthly figure exists: Tisserand oils are £12.00 per 9 to 20 ml bottle and Stoneglow's 15 ml refill is £11.00, but no maker publishes consumption per hour. Our running-costs page shows every sum and where it stops.
5. Control
The Beurer runs continuously or for one, three or seven hours with automatic switch-off; the John Lewis Electric Diffuser has a timer and cuts out when the tank empties; the Tisserand runs thirty seconds on and thirty off, or continuously; Stoneglow states nothing. None of the five has an app. All three Scentech machines are set from the Scentech app over Bluetooth, with schedules; the Diffuser 2 adds a dial and the Pro a touchscreen.
Which of the seven fits which case
- One bedroom, oils you already own, under £50. Beurer LA 40, £39.99: the only high-street machine that commits to a room size, with a three-year guarantee at John Lewis.
- An evening of mist on a desk. Tisserand Aroma Spa, £43.00, four to five hours per fill. Eleven reviews, so a thin record.
- Bought over a counter this afternoon. John Lewis Electric Diffuser, £50.00, 4.2 from 103 reviews. Accept 45 minutes per fill.
- A cloakroom that should smell of something for weeks. Stoneglow, £65.00, 15 ml for up to ten weeks, mechanism not named by the retailer.
- Up to 40 m², no socket where you want it. Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser, about £101 or free with five scents, on D batteries or USB-C. The loudest Scentech at 59.5 dB, and the pod has to be decanted.
- A floor rather than a room. Scentech Diffuser 2, about £132 or free with seven scents: 65 m², 39.5 dB, pod clicks in.
- An open-plan ground floor. Scentech Pro, about £193 or free with nine scents: 100 m², a battery of up to four days.
The John Lewis Speckled Ceramic is left off: the retailer prints "for occasional household use only" and it has one review. Every figure sits in the full table on the homepage.
Our pick, and what is wrong with it
The Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2 leads our ranking and is our pick here: the only type with a stated reach beyond 20 m², a published decibel figure, an app and a dial, and a pod that clicks in. Scentech scores 4.7 on Trustpilot from 281 reviews (September 2026).
Three things count against it, all from the maker's own pages. It is mains only, so it lives where the socket is. It takes Scentech pods and nothing else; other oils fall outside the one-year guarantee. And on the highest setting a pod is gone in about a month, which turns £13.50 a month into £27. The pound prices are conversions of euro prices at checkout, read in September 2026. Scentech ships from the Netherlands; UK availability and cost are shown at checkout.
Questions we are asked
Is an electric diffuser the same as an essential oil diffuser? In UK shops the water-tank kind is what the phrase usually means, and it takes loose essential oil. A pod machine is electric too, but takes blended fragrance oil, which Scentech states is IFRA-compliant and does not sell as pure essential oil.
How much electricity does one use? Not stated. No maker or retailer in our comparison publishes a wattage.
Which electric diffuser makes the least noise? Only Scentech publishes a figure: 39.5 dB for the Diffuser 2 and the Pro. For the other five, not stated.
Can it run all night? A water tank runs as long as its fill: 45 minutes for the John Lewis models, four to five hours for the Tisserand, up to seven on the Beurer's timer. A pod machine runs on a schedule, one to three months per pod.
Ordered through Scentech's offer page, five scents add the Smart Aroma Diffuser, seven add the Diffuser 2 and nine add the Pro. The same scents from an ordinary product page add nothing. Scentech describes the promotion as temporary. 30-day returns · 1-year warranty · ships from the Netherlands; UK availability and cost are shown at checkout
Advertisement See the offer at Scentech